Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PC vs. Mac

PC vs. Mac

Is there a consensus? Which do you prefer to work with for photo-processing and editing?

Re: PC vs. Mac

I wont vote since I never really used a mac only windows and linux
    (programming not photo-processing) but just looking at most of the
    windows systems the computers for the most part aren't exactly
    powerhouses and windows itself has a whole lot of bulk. macs seem to
    have a fairly heavy hit hardware wise (and wallet) along with something
    that from the little I've used a mac seems much less bulky. So if I
    was given the choice of either system for free definitely would go mac.
    7d w/ BG-E7, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS II

Also, how many people use laptops vs. desktops? For those of you using laptops, do you use an external monitor?

I'm a photography newbie, but I use both Macs and PCs a lot. When I'm actually in Lightroom (the only photo software I've used on both) I don't notice any difference in how the program operates.

However, when I'm doing anything else, the Macs are by far the better machines. The interface really is more intuitive, the operating system is much more stable, their customer support is the best I've encountered for any product or service, and, if you're actually comparing similarly equipped machines (same processor speeds, same amount of memory, yada yada) Macs are no more expensive than PCs. (There was an article on Slate or the NYT about this a few weeks ago.)

I use a desktop. If I used a laptop, I wouldn't do it without an external monitor. Laptop montior's color just doesn't seem accurate enough to me.
    5D mark III, 50D, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f4L ​IS, 28 f1.8, 50 f1.8, 85 f1.8, 100 f2.8 Macro