Thread: Canon wide angle for PJ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Canon wide angle for PJ?

Hello!

I'm a wedding photographer by specialty and we use only L primes at this point. For wide angle we use the 24 1.4 and 35 1.4 mostly for the superior image quality. I loved using the 16-35 from a usability standpoint but it really didn't hold up next to the IQ of the primes. So I'm looking to add a new lens to shore up wider views than the 35 offers. My question is has anyone used the 16-35 v2 or 28 1.8 as well as the 24L and 35L and how do those 2 lenses hold up to the L primes. Also, has anyone checked out the 24L version 2?

Thanks! I'll be using these lenses on the 5dmk2.

- trr

Re: Canon wide angle for PJ?

Todd:

I preferred my 10-22mm EFS (on APS-C) optically over my current 16-35L Mk1 on FF. So if you are using a Canon APS-C body for a back-up that might be a good option to try. I liked that this lens could share 77mm filters with my other L zooms.

I'm not sure if the apertures are fast enough on the EFS lens for your work though?

-Chad

He said he'd be using a 5D Mk. II. Does the EF-S lens work ona FF body? I didn't think that they were compatible.

As far as the OP question about the 16-35 L Mk. II, I'd have to look it up, but IIRC Bryan though it was an improvement over the Mk. I and a very good lens. I personally have a 17-40 L, and the 16-35 Mk. II is supposed to be superior to it.

I borrowed a 16-35 v2 from CPS a while back and I didn't get to test it next to the version 2 but it still didn't look like it came close to the primes. I don't use cropped cameras but the Tokina 11-16 actually looks pretty impressive for an off-brand crop lens. I'm wondering if Canon is going to compete with Nikon on the 14-24?

- trr

I own 16-35 2,8LII, and am very happy with it, far more happy than with the first version. I shoot with an 5D and a 1DsIII.