Thread: Help with finding the right lens

Help with finding the right lens

Hello. I'm not a pro, but work for a company that likes to take a lot of photos. We currently have a Canon EOS 30D w/Sigma DC 17-70mm, 1:2.8-4.5 lens.

This lens works well enough for your typical candid-like shots, but on quite a few occasions, I'm required to take group and portrait-like still photos. On some of the group shots, I have noticed that the corners of the photo, and people on the ends, become a little out focus. Overall, the quality is not the greatest either, compared to what I've seen from others.

So I'm hoping to find a lens that performs great under some or all of the following conditions:

1. Large group still photos: the groups can get relatively large.

2. Portrait-like still photos: we have a little studio setup with a gray cloth background

3. Lower light: generally, lighting can get a little low in some of the places we take photos often.

4. If it can snap a good crisp photo that features a lot of motion, without flash, that would be a plus.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Jesse-

Re: Help with finding the right lens

Hi pagejesse...

Youhave a few options,and I'm sure others would agree that you maywant to look at the Canon EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS USM or the Canon 24-70 2.8LUSM only lens. Sigma will soon be producing a 17-50 2.8 OS HSM, but be cautious here as Sigma's have some issues with quality control.

Good luck...
    Canon 450D Gripped, Canon 24-105 f/4L, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM II, Sigma 10-20 EX f/4-5.6, Canon S95

“There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.” -Ansel Adams