Thread: i'm finally ready for some critique..

i'm finally ready for some critique..

hey, friends.. i discovered these forums about a week ago. i'm a big fan of bryan's site, so i was quite pleased to see an area to converse with people that i can learn from.

i've been shooting for about two years now-- beginning in feb. '07 with a rebel xti and absolutely no knowledge of anything other than how to set the camera to "auto" and squeeze the shutter release. in that time, i've absorbed all knowledge that i can. i've read countless books, magazines, websites, and have tried exceedingly hard to put together a basic portfolio that i'm proud of (presented in the form of a smugmug website).

i very much wish to build a career out of this, so i would deeply, deeply appreciate it if you, the pros, would give me some feedback-- tell me what you like, what you dislike, strengths i should capitalize on, and weaknesses i should improve on.

www.frantzphoto.net

thank you very much for your time

Re: i'm finally ready for some critique..

Dan, just visited your site and you have some really good pics there. I'm not a pro myself and only really started shooting seriously about 4 years ago. You have a nice assortment of photos and it's clear that you definately have been reading up quite a bit on photography if you just started shooting just 2 years ago.

Just a few quick observations--in your inanimate objects section, I noticed that most of the photos are shot with some rotation, which is a great way to add some instant dynamic to a picture. Too much of a good thing may not always be the best thing though. There are some photos, like the license plate photo, that appear to be a little bit too rotated. But I guess that is just personal preference anyway. I'm sure there are real pros on this site that can give you better critiques. I do like that bee picture that you took.