Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Normal and Expected? or Problem Lens

Normal and Expected? or Problem Lens

Just wondering what you guys think - to me the distortion in this image seems awfully severe for a Canon L - it's the 17-40 at 17mm on a 40D.

I know all wide angle lenses distort, particularly zooms, but this seems a little overboard to me.

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.29.05/pincush_5F00_web.jpg[/img]

Re: Normal and Expected? or Problem Lens

Here's another one - maybe it'll help to see 2 shots - same camera/lens, 40D, 17-40L at 17mm.

Is there a secret to minimizing this effect, or any tips to hide it?

Thanks for taking a look - and whatever thoughts you can share.

[img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/800x533/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.29.05/pincush2_5F00_web.jpg[/img]

I think expected. I have no experience with this lense but I notice this with my 24-105L. My 24-105@24 has 1.8% distortion. The 17-40@17 has 2.47%. The 16-35@16 has 2.37%. Check out Lens Tests / Reviews at http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos

Mark
    Mark

This is a case of perspective distorsion. It'smore visiblewithwide angle lenses. My 17-40 L does the same.

It can be corrected by holding your camera level, you may have to elevate the camera to achieve a similar crop. Another way of correcting it would be a tilt and shift lens. You can also take care of it in post.

Perspective distorsions are very cool when used creatively.

Quote Originally Posted by piiooo

This is a case of perspective distorsion. It'smore visiblewithwide angle lenses. My 17-40 L does the same.

It can be corrected by holding your camera level, you may have to elevate the camera to achieve a similar crop. Another way of correcting it would be a tilt and shift lens. You can also take care of it in post.

Perspective distorsions are very cool when used creatively.
    <div style="clear: both;"]</div>