Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing a general purpose lens for my Canon 450D

Choosing a general purpose lens for my Canon 450D

Hi Everyone,

I'm new in the world of DSLR's and in this forum. As the headline says, I'm looking for a general purpose lens for my 450D (I think you guys call it an XTI). I've been looking around this page, and other pages, and it has helped a lot. I've now narrowed down my choices to two;

The Canon 17-40 mm f/4 or the Tamron 17-50 mm f/2,8. I haven't got any personal experience with either. I am a student, so I haven't got an enormous budget, at the same time I don't think I'm suffering from parkinson, so I might not be needing IS.

Looking forward to read your answers

-Ben

Re: Choosing a general purpose lens for my Canon 450D

Ben,

I can't tell you about the Canon since I haven't used it. But I have the Tamron and use it a lot. The difference between 2.8 and 4 is significant. The faster lens means you get more usable shots in low light situations without having to push your ISO. The Tamron is sharp and focuses quite fast. Plus you have an additional 10mm of zoom to work with.

Bottom line, I'd go with the Tamron. It's a lens that works in a lot of situations, it's got good IQ and the price is reasonable.

Tim

One note, I wouldn't discount the value of lenses that have IS. But that feature gets more important on lenses with more zoom.

450D = XSI Ben.

Anyhow, what do you think about the 17-55mm f2.8 IS?

That's definitely a superior lens -- especially when it comes to build quality and IS. But I'm not sure that Ben wants to put out an additional $600.

It really depends on your intended application. If you primarily shoot landscapes the EF 17-40mm is a great lens (I haven't used the Tamron), excellent sharpness, color, minimal CA, and excellent flare control. However, if you want to create separation between objects, f/4 is too slow at these focal lengths and you'd be better off with the Tamron.