Thread: Choices Choices

Choices Choices

Some background... I'm fairly new to photography but take pride in my shots (don't we all). I shoot mainly wildlife (especially birds). For the last few years I've been using a Canon Digital Rebel XT w/ kit 18-55 as well as a 70-300mm f 4.5-5.6 IS USM.

I'll be going to Alaska in the near future and have about $1500 w/ which to upgrade my gear. I've considered upgrading both my camera (to a t1i or t2i) or upgrading to a 15-85mm, 70-200mm f4L, or 100-400mm. Or, some combination of camera + lens in that price range.

While I do shoot mainly wildlife I can't imagine giving up landscape shots in Alaska. So, I'm in that all too familiar area... do I sacrifice one for the other? Is there any combination of lenses/cameras that will allow me to get quality shots of both on my trip?

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Re: Choices Choices

Rent, don't buy. This is a temporary need--perfect situation for renting rather than buying. Try LensRentals (they've got a good reputation).

Yup renting seems perfect for this occasion. For the longer run it's up to you. If you're really keen on birding and wildlife, go for the 100-400 or any longer prime. And if landscapes is more your thing go for a good general-purpose lens. But you can't get both for that budget I'm afraid.

Jan

I agree with the others. Sounds like renting is the way to go for you. The 100-400 is probably the lens for you in the long run, as well as for your Alaska trip. But you're looking at $1600 new, so that alone is pushing your budget beyond. I would say the two essential lenses for your trip on a crop sensor body is the 100-400 and a 17-55. You'll have a gap in focal length, but I don't think it will be detrimental for the shots you will take in Alaska. If you are able, you can cram in your 70-300 to cover that gap just in case.

Braden